Skip to main content

Board of Directors

The 92nd Annual ACFCU Membership Meeting will be held Tuesday, April 23, 2024 at 5:30 p.m. at the ACFCU Administrative Office, 201 E. New Street, Kingsport, TN.  All ACFCU members are invited to attend.  The Nominating Committee will present Mr. Buddy Johnston for re-election to the ACFCU Board of Directors.  There will be no nominations from the floor.  Mr. Johnston will be declared elected by acclamation. 

Appalachian Community Federal Credit Union's Board of Directors is composed of volunteer credit union members, elected by the membership, whose main responsibilities and decisions benefit all who belong to the credit union. These individuals give their time and expertise to oversee the growth and prosperity of the credit union.

Board of Directors

  • Joe Boggs, Chairperson
  • Laura Kelly, Vice Chair
  • Buddy Johnston, Secretary/Treasurer
  • J.B. Oaks
  • Tom Segelhorst

Supervisory Committee

  • Buddy Johnston
  • Jewel McKinney
  • Ada Smith
  • Timothy Sanders
  • Julia Ives

Annual Reports 

Meet Your Board of Directors

Joe Boggs
Board Chair

Mr. Joe Boggs was born and raised in the Kingsport area.  Educated in the Sullivan County school system, he attended night classes in management and leadership, hazardous materials, and emergency rescue.  Boggs worked in the paper industry more than 40 years serving in various management and support roles.  In December of 2020, he retired as General Manager of Domtar Paper Company at the Ridgefield Converting and Distribution facility in Kingsport, Tenn.  Boggs and his wife, Christina, have three children – one daughter and a son both work in law enforcement, and one daughter works in healthcare.  They live in the Church Hill community of Hawkins County, Tenn.  He and his family are of the Apostolic faith and have served in volunteer roles in their local church and community.  Boggs has served at the credit union for more than 20 years including roles with the Nominating Committee, Supervisory Committee, ALM Committee, and Board of Directors.

Laura Kelly
Board Vice Chair

Ms. Laura Kelly is the Executive Director of Holston Habitat for Humanity. She has served in the position since January 2021, having previously worked with Appalachia Service Project (ASP) for eight years as their Assistant Director of Ministries.  Kelly also serves on the State of Tennessee Habitat for Humanity Board of Directors, and has previously served on the Board of Housing & Community Development for the City of Johnson City and for the Appalachian Regional Coalition on Homelessness. She loves spending time outdoors, renovating her old home, and seeing live music. 

Buddy JohnstonBuddy Johnston
Board Secretary/Treasure & Supervisory Committee Member

Mr. Buddy Johnston was employed in various roles of the mining industry in human resources and administration for more than 40 years.  He previously served as chairman of the board for Coal Education Development and Resources of West Kentucky, a non-profit organization.  Since 2014, he has served as a Trustee of the Walter State Community College Foundation.  He graduated from the University of Tennessee in Knoxville with a bachelor’s degree in business administration and a master’s degree in education.  He obtained his master’s degree in business administration from the University of Charleston. He is originally from Cumberland Gap, Tenn., and relocated to the Colonial Heights area of Kingsport in 1993 with his wife, Vicki, and two sons.  

James B. Oaks
Board Director

Mr. J.B. Oaks is retired from Domtar Paper Company after working in the Distribution Department for 44 years.  In 1981, he was nominated and elected to the credit committee of ACFCU and later served as chairman of this committee. He was elected to the ACFCU Board of Directors in 1992 and continues his service today. During his tenure with ACFCU, Oaks has served as Vice Chairman and various other committees.  He is a member North Kingsport Church of God, currently serving as a councilman.     

Tom SegelhorstThomas K. "Tom" Segelhorst
Board Director

Mr. Tom Segelhorst is the HR Manager for Cardinal Glass at the Greenland Plant in Church Hill, where he has been since 2015.  Prior to that, he served as the HR/Health and Safety Manager at the Domtar Paper Mill in downtown Kingsport, where he had been since Mead Paper transferred him to the area in 1993.  Segelhorst, his wife Pam, and their two grown sons all live in Kingsport.  He is active in the community previously serving as a Kingsport City Alderman, Kingsport 911 board member, Chair of the Kingsport Chamber of Commerce Board, Chair of Fun Fest, Chair of Indian Path Hospital Community Board, Ballad Health Community board member and in various other community service organizations.  Segelhorst was raised in Missouri and received his Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Central Missouri.

Jewell McKinney
Supervisory Committee Member

Ms. Jewell McKinney has been a resident in the Upper East Tennessee Area since 1970.  She is a member of the First Baptist Church in Kingsport, Tenn., and an active volunteer in community events. Her family includes two sons, Brian and Brent McKinney, and her husband, Wayne Porter.  McKinney started her State of Tennessee Real Estate Career in 1991, and is a member of the following Real Estate Associations:  National Association of Realtors®; Tennessee Association of Realtors® and Northeast Tennessee Association of Realtors®.  She is the owner and managing broker of Town & Country Realty, where her clients are her number one priority. 

Ada Smith
Supervisory Committee Member

Ms. Ada Smith is from Whitesburg, Ky., and currently works for the Solidaire Network, a national community of donors supporting social movements.  Previously, she worked for more than 10 years at Appalshop, an anchor cultural institution in central Appalachia with a 50-year history both regionally and nationally.  Smith also serves on the board of the Mountain Association, an eastern Kentucky CDFI, and was a founding members of the Stay Together Appalachian Youth (STAY) Project.  She was selected as a 2013 Arts & Culture Fellow by the Rockwood Leadership Institute, a 2016 Local Economy Fellow by the Business Alliance for Local Living Economies, and the 2017 and 2018 co-facilitator for the Kentucky Rural-Urban Exchange.    

Timothy Sanders
Supervisory Committee Member

Photo coming soon! 
Mr. Timothy Sanders was born in Kingsport and attended Sullivan North High School.  He graduated from Northeast State Community College with an AS degree in Chemical Engineering and from ETSU with a BS degree in Electronics Engineering Technology.  He has previously served as president of the Lynn Garden Optimist Club and as a member of the Kingsport Kiwanis Club.  Sanders has been an employee of H&R Block for 21 years as a senior tax analyst and has also owned and operated Sanders Produce Market for the last 20 years.   He is a founding member, seller, and the market manager of the Church Hill Farmers Market.  He resides in the Bloomingdale community of Kingsport on a small farmstead where he enjoys gardening, farming, and jogging.   

Julia IvesJulia Ives
Supervisory Committee Member

Ms. Julia Ives is the Purchasing Manager at Domtar Packaging Mill in downtown Kingsport.  The East Tennessee native previously worked for 25 years in the automotive industry where she served in various leadership roles including procurement, scheduling, and inventory control. She graduated from Tusculum University with a bachelor’s degree in Organizational Management. Ives is a member of First Baptist Church of Church Hill and serves her community in several voluntary activities. Her family includes a daughter, Jenesis, and three sons, Jonah, Ben and Matt, and her husband, Todd. She enjoys kayaking the Holston River, outdoor music festivals, and shopping with friends.