Skip to main content

ACFCU Team Members Earn Financial Counselor Designation

ACFCU Branch Manager Sherri Eaton and Senior Mortgage Loan Originator Penny Pavitt recently earned their Certified Credit Union Financial Counselor (CCUFC) designation through the Enhanced Financial Counselor Certification Program. 

Offered through the Tennessee Credit Union League, the five-month self-paced program guides staff on the best skills counselors can use to help members better manage their finances. 

Modeled after the CUNA Certified Financial Counselor Schools, each participant who completes and passes the proctored exam is granted the Certified Credit Union Financial Counselor (CCUFC) designation and is ready to help members reach their financial goals.

“I look forward to educating our members about how credit works, assisting them with re-establishing credit, and helping them create a working budget,” said Eaton.  “I am also excited to offer financial education to our local schools and conduct financial seminars in the community.”

Eaton has been with ACFCU for six years and has more than 25 years of financial service experience.  She currently serves as the branch manager for the Stone Drive, Kingsport location.  She resides in Blountville with her husband, Michael, and her son, Chase. 

“I am ready to help our members and the community improve their financial knowledge and give them the tools necessary to guide them to financial wellness,” stated Pavitt. 

With more than 14 years of financial service experience, Pavitt has served as a mortgage loan originator for the past 13 years.  She currently resides in Kingsport with her husband, Robert.  She has two sons, Patrick and Timothy.

The CCUFC certification is designed for credit union staff working in all aspects of member services, including; financial counseling, collections, call center, community relations, loan departments, or any other staff members committed to helping members improve their financial well-being.

About Appalachian Community Federal Credit Union

Originally formed by the employees of Mead Paper Mill (Domtar) in Kingsport, Tenn., in 1932, Appalachian Community Federal Credit Union serves any persons who live, work, worship or attend school in Carter, Hawkins, Sullivan, Unicoi or Washington Counties, Tennessee, the city of Bristol, TN/VA, the city of Norton, VA, Wise, Scott and Washington Counties, Virginia, Jackson, Clinton, McCreary, and Wayne Counties, Kentucky, as well as other designated entities.  Contact us to learn more about membership eligibility. 

Headquartered in downtown Kingsport, Tenn., ACFCU is a full-service not-for-profit financial cooperative with each member’s deposits insured up to $250,000 by the NCUA.  Branch locations include Gray, Johnson City, Rogersville, and Kingsport, Tenn., and Norton, Va.  Follow ACFCU on Facebook at, Instagram at www.instagram/myACFCU, or X at  For more information, visit